• 1 Post By en7jos
  • 2 Post By j_iffy
  • 1 Post By en7jos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-19-2020, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
CO2 and Drop Checkers

So, I'm new to using CO2 in my aquarium. I have a Green Leaf Aquatics system with a paintball cannister set up and running successfully with all the important parts, including a solenoid. Right now, both my lights and the solenoid are plugged into a timer to run 8 hours a day. I've read that the drop checker is more important than the BPS, but I'm not quite sure how to monitor it.

With my co2 being off at night should the drop checker solution revert to blue (low co2) by morning, and if so, how long should it take to turn green again once everything is on? I assume I'm looking for a balance where the solution is a nice green most of the day, to show that there's enough co2 for the plants but not an excess? The drop checker solution is NilogC and is "4dkh/PH".

Any tips for getting this right would be greatly appreciated. Attached a couple pics of the aquarium, to show how planted it is.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-20-2020, 01:29 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Hi @Rosalaine. This is my understanding, but sure the experts will be along shortly to confirm.....

CO2 drop checkers typically take 1 to 2 hours to respond to changes. Some recommend having your lights and timers on separate timers with the CO2 turning on in the morning (and off at night) an hour or two before the lights come on (turn off). This is to allow the Co2 time to build up to the right level before the lights come on and the plants 'wake up', and to save a bit of CO2 in the evening. Others have CO2 running 24/7, so guess you take your pick with how you want to run. Important to observe livestock behaviour and back off CO2 if fish are gasping at surface etc.