Sponge Filter; Too Much Surface Agitation - The Planted Tank Forum
 17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-20-2020, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Sponge Filter; Too Much Surface Agitation

Hey there once again. This is going to be a real basic question because this is my first tank with a sponge filter so I have no experience whatsoever with how to tweak them and get them to work. I tried looking up advice online but I haven't seen the question asked so I'm probably the only one dumb enough to be confounded by this haha. So I just installed my new sponge filter in this 10g tank I'm trying to set up and I'm running into an "issue" (its not really that big of a deal probably) where when the air breaks the surface it pops and spits up little bits of water all over the rim and the light. Its not too crazy and its probably harmless but my OCD is getting bothered so I'm wondering if there is a simple fix for this. I have an air stone installed in the filter and I just bought a control valve to try to adjust the level of air getting pumped in but all it does is give me either hardly any bubbles or popping on the surface. My idea is that I probably got a sponge filter that is too big for the tank and maybe having the bubbles travel that short distance is causing the disruption? But that's just a guess. Before I go out and buy another sponge filter (not a big deal but I do like this filter with its coarse foam and paying shipping for another $3 sponge filter isn't my favorite idea ever) just wanted to get some thoughts. Again, I'm sure this is like baby's first sponge filter question but appreciate anyone helping out! Attached is a picture of my tank so you can see the giant sponge filter that I definitely should have looked at the measurements of before I had it shipped to me:
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-20-2020, 08:18 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)