Risk mitigation strategies for tank animals when using CO2 - The Planted Tank Forum
 55Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 09-16-2020, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Risk mitigation strategies for tank animals when using CO2

I'm new to CO2 and will be adding Endlers, RCS, and Amanos shortly to a newly started 50g, gradually of course while it cycles. It's dawning on me that CO2 is by far the most dangerous aspect of fishkeeping, where a simple mistake or fault in a number of systems can quickly kill your entire tank.

The two main critical risks I see are(1) CO2 does not stop after lights out and (2) too much CO2 is delivered to the tank when lights are supposed to be on. In both scenarios, my assumption is that if you are targeting 30ppm, which sounds like it is close to the asphyxiation point for fish/critters, after just a few hours in failure mode, all animal life in your tank is dead.

For the first risk, that CO2 does not stop after lights out, I plan to mitigate by using two battery backed up timers in serial. This way if power fails, the timers retains both accurate time and programming. By using two in serial, if one timer fails to cut power at lights out, the other timer will also cut power at the same time so CO2 power will still be cut. I'm also considering running an airstone after lights out that not only brings more O2, but will would help mitigate if CO2 kept flowing through some fault. I feel pretty good about mitigating this risk scenario.

For the second risk, that too much CO2 is delivered to the tank when lights are supposed to be on, I am less certain about my mitigation strategies. There would be a number of root causes for such an event:
1. operator error messing with regulator valve setting
2. accidentally bumping a regulator valve and opening it more
3. regulator malfunction
4. lights fail to come on