The Planted Tank Forum banner

Godbee’s Regulator build

4K views 23 replies 5 participants last post by  Bettatail 
#1 ·
I started to pay attention to yall’s regulator builds recently and realized that’s something I’m very much capable of. So I dove in an bought a regulator off an auction site.

I got this one for 100 bucks shipped

https://m.restek.com/catalog/view/1022

Kinda wondering if I jumped the gun and paid too much or if I bought something unusable because after searching the forums I came up with zero people using this regulator. It should be here next Friday and now I’m going to start gathering my other parts.

I’m probably gonna go with a Clippard solenoid but I need help picking the voltage because that’s out of my skill set.

I’m undecided on a needle valve yet. Maybe I’ll get opinions here that’ll help me decide. I’d like a stainless one, but it doesn’t need to be 200 dollars because this is my first build. I’m sure after doing this one I’ll realize things I didn’t coming into it, and want to try again. I’d appreciate any suggestions on that.

I’m thinking about brass fittings in between all of the instrumentation, polished up...just to look cool really. I have access to Swagelock and small bore stainless fittings from the work I do so if I can’t source the the brass parts or get the finish I want, I’ll use those.

Any feedback on that regulator would be nice. I’ll be posting here as things come together too.

See less See more
#2 ·
the regulator looks like a re-branded concoa 312, it is stainless steel diaphragm, a nice reg, and welcome to the DIY party!

you can pm flowerfishs, he has some nice swagelok metering valves in 1/8 npt connection, and I think he has the solenoids too.
If you want to find a rare high precision metering valve and a suitable low power consumption solenoid, you need to wait a little bit longer and have some luck, they don't come by that often.

#4 ·
Godbee said: