Rex Griggs reactor tuning - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-17-2020, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Rex Griggs reactor tuning

I'm setting up a new 125 gallon tank and had some questions about co2 reactors. Since I have no experience with these I bought one from Nilocg rather tahn try and build my own. I've got it all set up now, hooked up to a fluval fx4 in an empty tank to experiment with it.

A few things I'm wondering...
  1. How should I position the co2 tube in the reactor? It's adjustable so I can put it in further (higher up) the water flow or lower down. I have no idea which is better...
  2. How the heck do I tune this thing? From what I can tell just trying it out, it works by putting co2 bubbles into the reactor, which then want to float. But the water flow against the bubbles want to push them down. This gets balanced out so the bubbles just kinda float in the water flow gradually dissolving into the water. But from watching it, it seems like the Co2 bubbles stay in the water for a while leading me to think I need a VERY low bubble count to inject.
So I'm a total novice with this but any advice on tuning and dialing this setup in is welcome. Right now the tank is empty so I'm just experimenting while the plants are in a quarantine tank.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-17-2020, 11:14 PM
Captain

PTrader: (1/100%)

Are you referring to the above reactor? If so, there really is no "tuning" of the reactor itself. Don't think it really matters much on the black hose inside the reactor. You are correct in that the CO2 enters the reactor and floats to the top. The incoming water stream bounces the bubbles around until they dissolve. The "tuning" of the system is more related to the CO2 regulator and it's metering valve.