CO2 gets to bubble ctr but not to tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 01:55 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question CO2 gets to bubble ctr but not to tank

I am having a problem with the CO2 system in my 40 gal freshwater aquarium (36"w x 15"d x 17"h). I am out of ideas about what else to try. Help would be much appreciated (probably something only a newbie would miss).

I am new to CO2--I have only used it since last fall. For a while I had an in-tank diffuser, but didn't get much result. The first week of January I installed an inline CO2 atomizer. It was marvelous for six weeks or so: I could see a very, very fine mist in the tank, the CO2 indicator solution changed appropriately over the day, and all the green guys pearled enthusiastically! On less than 1 bps.
Then I had a solenoid problem and then a needle valve problem (half my fish died ) and I then had to refill my CO2 tank. It took awhile to get all that fixed.

When I started it all up again a few weeks ago I couldn't seem to get the CO2 to show up in the tank. This is my set up:
CO2 tank with Archaea dual-gauge regulator=>
=>Amano speed controller =>
=>Amano plastic check valve =>
=>inline bubble counter =>
=>stainless steel check valve
(or plastic airline coupler, tried both: see Note just below) =>
=>CO2 atomizer in the output line of Eheim 2215 canister
(on the line out of the canister, on the way to the aquarium).

(Note: the SS check valve is pretending to be a CO2-proof coupler, so that I can have a few inches of the flexible white CO2 tubing at each end of the bubble counter--because that is the only way I can disconnect the bubble counter to re-fill it. The rest of the tubing is the stiff black Co2-resistant type)

--The first gauge of my regulator still reads full. It has not visibly gone down over the last two weeks, so I assume it's not leaking anywhere, or not much. I can't hear any hisses.