I'm breaking up with Eheim. Can you recommend a replacement for a 120 gallon? - The Planted Tank Forum
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-31-2019, 01:38 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm breaking up with Eheim. Can you recommend a replacement for a 120 gallon?

UPDATE: I have ordered a 2217. So technically, I'm breaking up with Pro 3s and not Eheim all together. I looked at all the suggestions and the Oase, Fluval Fx6 and Eheim Classics seemed to have the most fans. When I factored in cost, availability of parts (including a HUGE storage box filled with everything Eheim, it seemed like a good choice at half the cost of the other two.

Thanks you everyone who gave recommendations and for sharing such in depth info and experiences. I really appreciate it! I've been battling cyanobacteria ever since my first 2028 bit the dust, so I'm really looking forward to getting some good filtration going again. Thank you again!

I had two Eheim 2028s on my 120 gallon planted tank. Over the years, I've replaced all the seals and rings many times. And over the years I've had the dreaded leak from the power cord area many times. Even the priming ring has been replaced. This is a known issue with these filters. And I'm tired of the customer services issues I've experienced at Eheim as well -- maybe they'll get back to you and maybe they won't.

I got rid of one of them months ago and now the second one has developed the constant slow trickle.

The only thing worse than hearing water alarms go off in the middle of the night is having your roommate call you in the middle of the night because of them -- while you're on vacation.