Sump or canister in this case? - The Planted Tank Forum
 25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)
Sump or canister in this case?

I'm looking at a 95 or 120g tank, well-planted high tech with swarms of small fish and inverts. I want the minimum amount of equipment practical in the tank and water as clear as possible. I have no experience with sumps but several have recommended them highly here and on youtube. One strong exception with some telling points is Build Your Own Custom Aquarium Filter Sump | Advanced Aquarium Concepts

Sump:
- any thoughts on a wet/dry sump vs. using K2 as described elsewhere in the link?
- would i need one or two overflows?
- can i screen the overflows a few inches down to make rescuing lost fish easier?
- is there a way to protect fish that go down the outflow pipe to a wet/dry system? I imagine they'd be pretty beaten up.
- are floating plants and overflows mutually exclusive choices?
- is there any advantage to creating a purigen reactor loop in the pump stage?
- I assume the pressurized CO2 joins the system via a barbed hose connection between the pump and the returns. Correct?

Getting back to the hobby and up to speed.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 54 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 11:05 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainer View Post
I'm looking at a 95 or 120g tank, well-planted high tech with swarms of small fish and inverts. I want the minimum amount of equipment practical in the tank and water as clear as possible. I have no experience with sumps but several have recommended them highly here and on youtube. One strong exception with some telling points is Build Your Own Custom Aquarium Filter Sump | Advanced Aquarium Concepts

Sump: