Canister filter newbie here. Help? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By PlantedRich

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-07-2018, 03:21 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Canister filter newbie here. Help?

I'll just say right off the bat that I've been out of the aquarium hobby for almost twelve years and have never used a canister filter before, so please bear with my inexperience, lol.

I purchased a canister filter about a month ago for a 40gal tank (which has nothing living in it at the moment). It's a (lightly used) Sicce Whale 200 that's supposed to run at 190 gph. I've set up and primed it according to the manual + instructional video, but after the canister is done filling and I turn it on, the outflow is really weak.. Like, barely trickling out. The intake/out-take tubes aren't being obstructed or cut off by anything, and it's running quietly with no unusual grinding noises. It's assembled correctly. I can't seem to figure out what the issue is. Advice?

EDIT: Filter has been working perfectly for about a month now, there was a small loose piece inside that fell out while I was putting it together the first time.

Last edited by madcaps; 05-15-2018 at 08:47 PM. Reason: No longer having the issue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-07-2018, 04:11 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Not up on that filter but there is an almost universal item that often causes this. A major point for this type of impeller is that they can only pump water and will not move air. So when you have weak flow, it can often be that there is some water but a lot of air around the impeller. Kind of like splashing but not pumping?
Once assured there are no jams like media in the tubing etc, no kinks in tubing and the water in the tank is the correct level, I look for air in the wrong place.
Sometimes reading and using directions still leaves us at a loss!