Reactor Newb Has a Q - Flow Rate? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By stankyleg

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-20-2018, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Reactor Newb Has a Q - Flow Rate?

Does the Cerges Reactor, or CO2 reactors in general, restrict the flow rate of a canister filter?

I'm new to the hobby and setting up my first tank. I made a point to buy a higher GPH canister filter with 565GPH (SunSun 304B) on a 55 gallon tank. Knowing that 565GPH will likely never actually happen when it's all setup, I still want to keep as much of the flow rate intact as I can and limit restrictions.

When I look at reactors my first thought is pressure build-up and flow restriction. Is this something I should consider when building a reactor? Perhaps the answer is that higher GPH flow rate warrants higher volume CO2 reactor?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-20-2018, 04:54 PM
Planted Member

yes reactors will restrict flow rate, I'm using a sump and before I installed my Cerges reactor I had to turn my return pump all the way to the lowest setting 397gph. After I installed my reactor the flow was severly restricted so I turned it all the way to the highest setting 793GPH. I suggest getting another canister filter and not put any media in there and use that to drive the reactor if you want a high flow.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2018, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmantis View Post