Eheim canister filter - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
Eheim canister filter

I've been thinking about getting a Eheim 2213 canister filter PLUS.
Is this a good filter? If you have had good experiences with the Eheim 2213 PLUS please share. If you have had any bad experiences please share them too.

Thank you all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 06:05 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (10/100%)
If by PLUS you are referring to the quick disconnects and media being sold with the filter, then yes I have direct experience with this unit. I have been using one on a 29 gallon heavily planted tank for almost 5 years. Here is a quick synopsis:

Pros: silent, reliable, easy to maintain

Cons: not optimal flow for a 29g, Eheim fine filter pads clog too quickly (i now use bonded pads cut to fit), some assembly required with initial setup (poor instructions included with filter), initial priming.

For me the Cons were a minor inconvenience other than the flow. In hindsight, I would have gotten a 2215 model for this tank. However, for the money spent this filter is a great value since it appears it will last for a very long time.

Eheim Pimp #181

29g High-tech jungle
5.5g Low-tech jungle
2.5g x 2 Low-tech shrimp and moss

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 06:14 PM
Banned

PTrader: (37/100%)
If you remove the media basket and put in lattice screens you can hold more media in the 2213.

I'd just go wit the 2215... I love mine on my 60-P but wish it had more flow. I think I want to upgrade to the 2217.

Efhipimp # 428!

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:39 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)