Best way to inject CO2 with sump - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Best way to inject CO2 with sump

EDIT: I've decided to go with a closed loop cerges. Please see post #7 for more questions.

I am setting up a 58g tank with overflow and 20g sump (no baffles). I've never used a sump with CO2 before. I was just going to use my DIY inline reactor but it would need to be rebuilt to go where I need it go. So if I'm going to have to change things anyways I'm wondering about any other options for diffusing. I love that the inline reactor creates no bubbles in the main tank, that it is very efficient and there is no extra equipment in the tank, plus the cheap price tag of course! I don't like that it reduces flow though.

Since we are here...I found out my last plastic check valve was 100% blocked (possibly what led to my nearly full tank emptying?) and now I need a new check valve. I am guessing stainless steel is the way to go? And this a decent deal?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...A131SO7MHPCPON

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Updated 9/24/16

Updated 4/19/17

Last edited by myswtsins; 09-13-2016 at 07:55 PM. Reason: added info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-06-2016, 12:49 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
I don't know if it's the best way, but a closed loop with a cerges reactor and a very low volume pump is working quite well in the sump I have for my 125.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-06-2016, 09:41 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaye View Post