Red cherry shrimp coloration - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red cherry shrimp coloration

Hello shrimp keepers! I am a newbie at this hobby, but know a good about of info on red cherry shrimp.

So today, I saw that one of my big females ( big means old, right?) has a very pale red color. She always had the pale red on her when I got her, like 1 month ago. What I'm worried about is that she is pregnant, and so when the babies hatch and mature, will the babies also be pale, or possibly have a chance at being a more redder color? Right now, I have about 10 shrimp,so I'm trying not to cull her, but if i have to, for the sake of redder coloration in future generations, I will.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 05:52 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
as far as I know currently we don't know enough about shrimps genetics to determine those kind of things. Best thing to do is line breeding for a brighter red is let them breed and cull the ones that aren't moving you closer to your goal

Last edited by mcclure91; 04-10-2013 at 05:53 AM. Reason: typo
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 05:56 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclure91 View Post
as far as I know currently we don't know enough about shrimps genetics to determine those kind of things. Best thing to do is line breeding for a brighter red is let them breed and cull the ones that aren't moving you closer to your goal
So basically leave them in the tank to breed and then just cull the ones I don't like? And what is line breeding for a brighter red mean?

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 06:06 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrimpo_Brian View Post