• 2 Post By en7jos
  • 1 Post By Blue Ridge Reef

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-27-2020, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help with water parameters CRS and RCS

Hi there
I’m new to shrimp keeping. I started with cherry Neos and I’ve now added crystal reds. My parameters are ph 6.3 tds 200 kH 0 gH 5. (Fluval stratum and soft tap water, just bought an RO unit, 200 liter planted tank) Both the CRS and RCS are breeding. But for the long term health of my colonies should I be dropping my tds down to 150? Or if everything seems to be ok should I just leave it as is. My pH stays low... think it’s my driftwood. I’d love some advice.
Cheers Louise
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-28-2020, 02:12 AM
Planted Member

Hi Louise

If you have happy, breeding colonies of both CRS and RCS then I would keep doing what you are doing as it is clearly working!

James
Blue Ridge Reef likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-28-2020, 03:10 AM
Planted Tank Guru

You have acidic water because of the Fluval Stratum - unless it's exhausted.

What are the source water's GH and KH?

Are you using minerals at all?

Is your TDS meter calibrated?
Blue Ridge Reef likes this.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2020, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Water source

My water source is tap water tds is 120. I put it through a Britz filter and the tds is then 105. I do a 5% water change once a fortnight and my tds stabilises between 190 - 200.
Iíve got about 50-100 shrimp altogether... I feed once a day. I havenít calibrated my meter, Iíll have to look up how to do that.
Iíve just had an ro water filter arrive and Iíve bought shrimp gh from shrimp king to remineralise with. So I can change my modify my tank now.
Zoidburg likes this.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-01-2020, 02:42 AM
Planted Member