• 1 Post By Truemyth
  • 1 Post By Fishly
  • 1 Post By atm424

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-18-2020, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newly introduced Amanos hiding normal?

I introduced 20 RCS and 10 Amano to a new 50G yesterday. I have kept RCS for many years but first experience with Amano. At first they swam all over the place exploring and foraging. I noticed at lights off last night some of Amanos were hanging out on the suction cups on my heaters and other tank wall objects further up in the water column (which is different than where RCS tend to "roost"). I did not see them attempting to breach the surface. This morning I saw a couple of Amanos foraging but the rest are MIA (nobody crawled out as far as I can tell). This is a tank approx. 70% planted so they do have a lot of places to hide. The RCS are behaving just like RCS as I know them, very busy little shrimp foraging around tank.

Is it normal behavior for Amano to hide in a new tank? I assumed they are a bold shrimp. There are no other animals in the tank yet except the 20 RCS.

My tank parameters are clean:
- 0 ammonia (and dosing Prime daily until cycle is done)
- 5PPM nitrates (which is actually low since I have plants and CO2, been dosing lean)
- 7dKH
- pH 7.6 when introduced with CO2 was off, expected pH 6.6 when CO2 is fully saturated
- temp 77.5F (letting it cool, my target is 75F)
- current: brisk - I have two 200GPH canisters so every part of the tank has some current
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-18-2020, 04:35 PM
Algae Grower