• 1 Post By Blue Ridge Reef
  • 1 Post By Zoidburg

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-2020, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Neocaridina- Red Sakura and Bloody Mary mix

Hello all,

First of all I am a shrimp novice. I have a question regarding grading the shrimps my buddy wants to give me. He breeds shrimps and by some accident his Neocaridina mixed. Red Sakura grade with Bloody Mary grade. In shrimp keeping world, would you say they are completely worthless or do they take the grade of the lower grade of the parents, in this case Red Sakura grade. Thanks for your insight.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-2020, 05:21 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Sakura red and bloody Mary stem from two different color lineage. If they were to breed, there is a high chance for wild type(brown) colors to emerge from the shrimplettes.
Blue Ridge Reef and romster like this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

7.5 Cube - shrimp tank
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-2020, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Ahaa, now I get it. I was not too far from truth yesterday when I was wondering and asking him, after a little research, why are his shrimps so nice and red when they are offspring of Sakura line= Red Cherry and Bloody Mary= Chocolate line when he had told me earlier that you may not mix different lineages. Now it all the pieces fit together. Although the shrimps he wants to give me are very nice a bright and dark red, you may never be sure of their offspring. Thank you
Econde likes this.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-2020, 10:38 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Red + Red = More Red