• 3 Post By Odori
  • 1 Post By Discusluv
  • 1 Post By Odori

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-27-2020, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need advice for sudden colony deaths

Hello plantedtank! I’m a long time lurker but this is my first time posting.

I have been keeping a small colony of PRLs for about 8-9 months, I started with five from a breeder and slowly got my numbers to about 20 (my breeding rate is another problem entirely) and recently I’ve experienced a problem that seems to be getting worse as time goes on.

My parameters for my tank are as followed:
PH: 6
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 10
GH: 6-7 (hard to tell from test)
KH: 0-1 (hard to tell from test)
TDS: 116

Substrate: fluval stratum
Other tank mates: chili rasboras
Tank size: 5.5 gallon
Heavily planted
RO DI + salty shrimp GH

The first thing I noticed is GH seems a bit high with the corresponding TDS my meter has always been consistent so I’m not sure if those values normally correspond to each other.