New to shrimp - normal for healthy shrimp to just hang out in plants all day? - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Nubster

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-02-2020, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question New to shrimp - normal for healthy shrimp to just hang out in plants all day?

As the title says, I'm fairly new to shrimp. I have a Fluval spec 3 with a betta, a nerite and 5 cherry shrimp (was 6...one died last week).

I've had the shrimp for about a month. Tank is about 10 weeks old. I do a 30-40% water change every week (tough to change less than that and get gunk out of the bottom, since even a pinched siphon takes out that amount of water quickly in a tiny tank).

One shrimp died last week. The others seem happy enough but they just hang out in the moss or on the back of one of the java fern l leaves.

I've got 4-5 java ferns in there plus a cholla piece with moss all on/in that, and two moss balls in there too.

I see the shrimp snacking on the ends of the moss or browned bits on the plant leaves, so I guess they are eating that natural stuff. I put about 1/2 tablet of algae based shrimp wafer in the tank about once a week. It's not like youtube videos I've seen where the shrimp are all piled onto the food shortly after I drop it in, though. Maybe one shrimp eventually checks it out, but in general they leave it and don't care, then I vac up the rest sitting there next time I clean the tank.

I see so many of these videos of the shrimp flying all over and running around exploring non stop. But, those tanks seems to be sand substrate based (I just have gravel) and sparse (i.e. not a lot of big plants for hiding in), which maybe is good for the video, but not ideal for how shrimp like to be? I'm just not sure if I have unrealistic expectations of seeing my shrimp wander all over all day, as opposed to mine that basically stay still 90% of the time and occasionally change places.