• 1 Post By Zoidburg
  • 1 Post By Desert Pupfish

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Advice for hard water?

Hi all,

I am relatively new to shrimp, I have some cherries and they were breeding nicely in my tank (with aquasoil) so I moved some over to a new smaller tank for breeding purposes - been giving a lot of shrimps to my friends and selling some on the side.

However my problem is that I have very hard water. TDS approx 200 out of the tap, pH about 7.5-8. No copper thankfully...GH and DKH were both high I don't exactly remember the values, I think it was 10 and 14 respectively.

I am wondering if it is worthwhile to use mineral supplements (i.e. Fluval shrimp mineral supplement for example), or if my water is already way too hard. I top up the water with distilled water but my water changes are mostly tap water because I can't afford to use distilled water for 100% of the changes. Also if anyone has any advice on other things I should add (alder cones, etc) please let me know. I am making a trip to the not so local LFS tomorrow and they specialize in shrimp.

Also side note: Anybody have any advice for medication if things go south? I've heard paraguard sometimes works but may not be invert safe?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 07:47 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
Originally Posted by aydemir View Post
Hi all,

I am relatively new to shrimp, I have some cherries and they were breeding nicely in my tank (with aquasoil) so I moved some over to a new smaller tank for breeding purposes - been giving a lot of shrimps to my friends and selling some on the side.

However my problem is that I have very hard water. TDS approx 200 out of the tap, pH about 7.5-8. No copper thankfully...GH and DKH were both high I don't exactly remember the values, I think it was 10 and 14 respectively.