Shrimp gathering in plant - The Planted Tank Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 06:56 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Shrimp gathering in plant

Hello, I have a newly started 8.75-gallon tank and I just bought 5 blue velvets yesterday and 5 more today. Before I added the new 5 today they were all swimming around and doing great but now with new 5 in there they're all hiding in a single plant that I added today with 3 others and some java moss. I have 8 plants, 3 moss balls, and then some java moss on a large piece of drift wood. I've read that they can do this if the O2 levels are too low. I wasn't sure if this was true or not? I do have a bubbler in the middle of my tank along with 4 blue mystery snails if that affects anything as well? I'm just worried about them because I am new to this whole shrimp breeding thing and I do have 3 pregnant females that I happened to buy and I want to make sure everyone is aokay. I've checked all my water levels as well and my ammonia is at .5ppm and my pH is 7.2 while everything else is 0ppm (the tank has been cycled). Any ideas and possible solutions would be much appreciated!! Thank you (:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 07:49 AM
Algae Grower

The shrimp and snails will start to climb to the top of the water level if the O2 levels fall. Run the bubbler for a couple hours if you see this.

Shrimp have a small footprint so any change in the water quality I.E. Ammonia is probably due to the snails.

You'll want your Ammonia levels as low as possible as well as Nitrite.

Nitrate slightly elevated for the plans to flourish. You can get some Seachem Flourish Excel to add carbon to the water to promote photosynthesis and get your plant's creating O2. Use small doses so you don't melt the plants and stuff.

Shrimp love a sponge filter and the little ones will cling to it and eat stuff so you may want to consider that.