Breeding Amano Shrimp - The Planted Tank Forum
 90Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 145 (permalink) Old 04-06-2019, 11:26 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Breeding Amano Shrimp

So I have recently taken on the task of breeding Amano shrimp. I have had success however, the final tank that they are transferred into immediately after metamorphosis is riddled with seed shrimp, flat worms and so on. I am sure a lot of you would have seen this coming but since I am new to the aqua game, it was not anticipated. So I have two questions.
1- Anyone else breeding Amano shrimp?
2- Does anyone have a brilliant idea as to a fish that would be small enough not to eat a freshly morphed Amano shrimp, yet large enough to eat these crustaceans and other various critters that are ruining my view?
All constructive replies are appreciated.

As for breeding Amano shrimp... Here we go...
-First of course is identifying males and females. Males will have rows of perfect dots along the shell while Females will have a combination of dots and slashes.
- In terms of getting them to mate, idk... Its my understanding that with adequate water parameters, temperature and food they can't help but get romantic. Keep your NH3 - 0, NO2 - 0 and nitrates low with a nice temp around 78 degrees and i'm sure it will happen. Even at my LFS they have a 180 gallon planted display tank with 100+ amanos in there and every female I seen was pregnant. Btw asked if I could buy some of the pregnant females out of the display and they said no