RCS Keep disappearing - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By natemcnutty

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 04:03 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
RCS Keep disappearing

Hi everyone, I’ve been keeping cherry shrimp for the past 6 months. I even had one of my females have babies in the time. However, every now and then a few of my shrimp will randomly disappear. Yesterday I picked up a few shrimp from the store, drip acclimated them for about 45 minutes and set them free. Today I rearranged my tank and noticed that a nice big yellow female I just bought is completely gone. I can’t find her under anything, any pieces of her in the tank, and couldn’t find her around the outsides of it. I have 3 white mountain minnows, 2 scarlet gem badis, 2 Pygmy corys, a lemon tetra and a kuhli loach. Do you think any of these could have gotten her? Do the shrimp bury themselves? Thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 05:58 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)
Sounds like your loach has been having some expensive snacks to me.

Other than that, do you know your GH / KH?
Nlewis likes this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 08:45 PM Thread Starter

So I tested the water and looks like kh ~4 and gh 5-6. Do you really think she could’ve been eaten by my loach? He seems too blind and lazy to grab anything. I looked all around the room to see make sure it didn’t jump out. Is it possible she buried herself in the substrate? Do you think a loach, snail, Pygmy corys, and other shrimps could’ve cleaned her gone by the next day?

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 09:22 PM
Planted Tank Guru