Going to attempt a small semi-self-sustaining tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-04-2018, 03:06 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Going to attempt a small semi-self-sustaining tank

So I have no aquarium experience outside of having a few small unfiltered goldfish tanks as a kid. I got it in my head that I'm going to try for a relatively self sustaining tank with a few live plants, 2 or 3 nerite snails, and possibly a dwarf shrimp (no fish). I say relatively because I don't plan on sealing it off or anything, so I can still access the tank should the plants/animals need something, but no filters or pumps or anything else, just the bowl. I'm not sure the exact size of my bowl but I estimate it to be about 1/2-1 gallon. Basically I'm looking for any and all advice/criticisms from those who have experience with these types of setups. I've been doing a lot of research so I think my plan could work in theory, but there isn't a lot out there I could find on a very small, unfiltered set-up specifically. What I have planned:

I'm debating between using EcoComplete or Florite for my substrate. From what I've read EcoComplete seems to be the overall better option but could negatively effect the ph level? Since it's such a small tank I was worried this could effect the animal/plant health...let me know your thoughts. I was also planning on adding a layer of white sand on top of the substrate, 1) for aesthetic reasons and 2) I read it helps keep plants rooted. Let me know if this could be a bad idea however.