Please help my neocaridina shrimp keep dying! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 02:00 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My water parameters are as follows for my red cherry shrimp tank.
I tested with api master test kit, api copper test, api GH & KH test, and a TDS PEN.
PH-8
72°F
TDS-307
copper-0ppm
Ammonia-0ppm
Nitrite-0ppm
Nitrate-5.0ppm
GH-15
KH-13
Im fairly new to planted tanks and tanks in general. I know my GH is high by 1 and my KH by even more but I dont know how to fix them. This week I had two decently old shrimp die and I've noticed this white line on their waist that im pretty sure its a sign of a molting problems. And the shrimps would also have a blueish tint on a small area on their sides. But idk what could be killing them for sure. I do have baby's in the tank they have been breeding. I have a buried shrimp I did have two but the mom dropped the eggs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 02:31 AM
Planted Tank Guru

Where did the shrimp come from?

What are you feeding?

What are your current water changes like?
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 02:49 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Food im feeding is Shirakura Shrimp Food Baked with Organic Seaweed. But usually I have to take it out because they dont eat it right now i have half a tab in i had three munching on it and some babys too.
I got them from Amazon from Aquatic arts I have had them for 2+ months I recently stopped weekly water changes and just did a water top off this past weekend by dripping water to reduce water swings.

Zoidburg you helped me out on my KH and GH testing post but i came and posted again because i keep having deaths.

Last edited by Darkblade48; 04-19-2018 at 06:54 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 04:11 AM
Planted Tank Guru