Bacter AE vs everything else - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2018, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via Skype™ to dmastin
Bacter AE vs everything else

I'm new to shrimp and have my first surviving batch growing and molting.
They are Sakura/fire red juveniles now in my possession for two weeks.
I've fed them Bacter AE, Shirakura Shrimp Food, and various Shrimp King (from a sample pack).
I assumed I'd see the shrimp clustered around the fancy shrimp food.
And they certainly do take an interest when happening upon the food, but they move on and don't seem all that excited.
Instead, they spend most of their time grazing randomly about the tank.
They all seem to be growing and molting regularly.
Why do they seem more interested in grazing the tank in general instead of eating the shrimp food?
Is it due to the Bacter AE powder?
Or is it more an issue of age and when they get older they will be more interested in solid pieces of food?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2018, 11:13 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
I don't use BacterAE, but do use a related product: ShrimpKing BioTase Active. I feed that and Boreno Wild Bebi once a week, the other two days I feed I Shrimps Forever Spinach, which my shrimp go bonkers for. I also feed Omega One shrimp and lobster pellets for the amanos I have in the tank.

I did notice that they didn't like algae wafers or another shrimp food (can't remember which one) when I first got them and they were younger, so maybe there is something to them acquiring taste for solid food as they grow up.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2018, 12:03 PM
Algae Grower