I'm new to planted tanks, but here's my first attempt. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2004, 04:03 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm new to planted tanks, but here's my first attempt.

I've been reading this forum for a while now, and I finally got the courage up to have a go at my own planted tank. Here's a breif tour of how the setup went.

1. Firstly (the thing that started me off) A friends father-in-law was selling his custom 2ftx2ftx2ft octanganal tank - for the price he was asking I could'nt let it pass.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~gumbo/F...avel_thumb.jpg

2. The hood was very shallow, to get sufficent lighting I needed to get creative. I managed to track down some 2ft reflectors with external ballasts. With the 2 squeezed in there I now have 4x20w fluros. If i go by the watts per gallon rule this gives me roughly just under 2 watts per gallon. (i hope its enough)

http://members.iinet.net.au/~gumbo/F...tsin_thumb.jpg

3. So with the final touches done. I went down the local fish store and managed to find a nice bit of driftwood. it even has java moss already growing on it and 2 other plants which I cant identify.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~gumbo/F...wood_thumb.jpg
http://members.iinet.net.au/~gumbo/F...ood2_thumb.jpg

So the setup so far:

Custom 2ftx2ftx2ft octanganal tank. (approx 168lts or 45 gal)
4x20w fluros.
fluval 304 filter
3mm gravel.

Next on the list will be some c02 injection of some sort (probably diy) and some fish of course!!! Dunno which ones yet though.

Let me know what you think!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2004, 04:22 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Welcome to the forum ski9k!

I know what you mean about being nervous about posting pics. After seeing everyone else's pics here it took me awhile to get up the courage too.