Noob questions about new planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 05:59 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Noob questions about new planted tank

Hi,

I am very new to the world of planted tanks and just started my first 'high tech' planted tank last week.

I have a 29 gal low tech aquarium for a while now so I thought I gonna try something new.

My new setup is a 10 gal Penn Plax with a 20 inch Finnex FugRay Plated+ LED Light, a Fluval 206 canister filter, CO2 injection (regulator + Paintball tank) and I also got one of those fancy TwinStar M3 anti algae device because I read it helps a beginner to control algae.

I filled the tank with ADA power sand and 2/3 ADA Aqual Soil and 1/2 Pecto Aquarium Sand.

For plants I planted mostly Hairgrass and some other plants I cannot recall (I think some sort of sword and a rotala) + I tied some moss to the stones.

This is the setup:

Now here are my questions:

1. Light
I always read about WattsPerGallon, but I cannot find good information about how to apply this to LED's? I assume the Finnex LED should be ok for my tank but it's more a guess than knowing for sure. Would be great to get some hint how to choose a fitting LED for a new planted tank. Also I am unsure how long I should have the light running. My timer will arrive tomorrow and I plan to set it to 8 hours, but I wonder if I could go higher to fasten the hairgrass build a carpet

2. Cycling
When I started this hobby with my 29 gal tank I read everything about cycling and my new tank 'behave' exactly as described: Started with low Ammonia, this would start raising and then eventually nitrite would build up and ammonia would go down. At some point the nitrite started to disappear and nitrate build up. Like this: