Writing Guide/book on Planted Aquariums, seeking input - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 02:33 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Lightbulb Writing Guide/book on Planted Aquariums, seeking input

Hey all, I've been keeping aquariums of all kinds and sizes for about 15 years now, and have decided to write a guide on keeping planted aquariums (with lots of general advice on freshwater aquariums as well) as a way to learn more and to give back to the hobby that has given me so much.

Over the years, I've used plenty of online resources and books, as well as forums, for learning and general troubleshooting. However, I'm always frustrated with a lack of a good "all-inclusive" guide on keeping planted tanks, that is, a one-stop shop for all the information I need, at my fingertips without having to hunt it down online or otherwise. Similarly, most books on fish keeping and planted tanks are either so overly simple as to be near useless or excessively erudite in the information provide that you'd need a Bachelor's degree in chemistry or biology to even begin understanding the information presented.

So, that's where the idea for this book came from. Over the next few months I'll be perusing many sources and writing this guide. I expect the final page count to fall somewhere within the 200-400 page range. As I have a background in the sciences, I'll be including of explanations of the science, in simple language, so anyone with a high school education can easily understand the concepts. I'm a strong believer in focusing on conceptual/intuitive understanding so that you have a strong grasp on the concept and can understand the practical implications of it. This is the approach I'll be taking with this guide.