3Likes
  • 6 Post By Diana

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-08-2015, 03:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Newbie tank swap question.

Hi to all, newbie here.

I have a 10g running for over a year now. It has a couple of small fish and a dozen of cherry shrimp. All happy and healthy.

Planning to replace it and build a Mr. Aqua 12g long low tech planted aquarium.

Got a couple of tank swap questions before i purchase the material.

1. Existing tank has Flourite Dark and some natural lava gravel.
Should i transfer them or buy new one ? It will take 2-3 months for the new tank to cycle and stable to transfer my live stock. If i transfer the flourite and gravel now, will that harm my existing live stock?

2. Can i take out the existing rock and dry wood to design my new aquascaping now ? Will cycling kill all the existing good bacteria ?

Any input will be appreciated !
Here is a pic of my existing 10g tank.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-08-2015, 04:03 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
If you want to retain your stock then keep the substrate in the present set-up.

Transferring rock and wood from present setup to the new one will not kill the beneficial bacteria on them, unless you let them dry. That's to say if you take them out and put them in your water filled new tank the bacteria will not only not die but will kick start your cycling process.

If you have a choice, you have a problem, till you elect your choice. No choice, no problem, only consequences, learn to live with them.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-08-2015, 11:49 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
essabee nailed it, but I'll go further. I would rehome the fish temporarily while I transferred everything, media from the filter included, to the new tank.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.