75 gal schooling display tank, seeking ideas for more color and better cohesion - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Raymond S.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-29-2015, 04:55 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
75 gal schooling display tank, seeking ideas for more color and better cohesion

I'm pretty new to a display tank and recently upgraded to a 75 gal planted tank, bought specific to house a tight school or perhaps schools of fish. The 20 gallon previous created what I felt an unnatural and somewhat stressed schooling behavior which the 75 has really solved.
Unsure if my fish numbers per species are ideal for schooling or even if there is any space to spare for more.

It has:
-20 Rummynose tetras that school well at times. Would more help?
-12 neons, loosely school along the bottom. Unsure if more will allow for a more impressive school midwater rather than the bottom?
-8 black neons, unsure why I added them but they school impressively but somewhat drab in color with all the Rummies.

I'd like to add more color without making a mess if that makes sense. I don't know if I can add yet another school of say serpaes or another red fish species without adding too much confusion and loss of cohesion between separate schooling species? I'm new to this and don't want a dogs breakfast!

And have no idea what kind of numbers I can add to this tank. It's well planted but with an Aquaclear 110. Considering exchanging for a cannister filter if it makes a difference.

I don't have a "predator" as I'm unsure what would be ideal that won't end up harassing/gulping the tetras. I had been considering a pair of GBRs but heard they can be nippy and the ones I've seen aren't incredibly colorful. Not ready for discus. While I 'need' more color I'd prefer the school be the center piece if this makes sense. Meaning a discus would steal the show!

Any suggestions greatly appreciated! Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement