Newbie Question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 10:36 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie Question

Ive been keeping fish for a few years now and dont have problems keeping them alive, the plants I struggle with.

I have a rena 380L calvados with original lighting (2 tubes) which I replace about every 9 months.

I have been using RO water for the last year with minerals added. Ive always struggled with any plants other that vallis and anubis as they always die after a while (even I cant get java fern going !).

I read about Co2 injection so bought a profi2 with solenoid. I did tests and made sure the ph was right and the amount of co2 was ok. I expected a massive improvent in the growth of the plants.

Unfortunately I havent seen this.... vallis still grows but doesnt it always. My big anubis seems to have stopped producing leaves and has black spots on every other leaf (some kind of algae i guess). Smaller anubises doing the same. Other "more tricky plants" never made it.

I change water about 20% every 5 weeks and am lazy in adding fertiliser (pour in a bit of plant liquid fertiliser every few weeks).

Pls can you give me some basic tips to get things right... seems like im no better off having co2 now - if not worse off than before.

Is it really this hard?! Some step by step instructions would be great - what do i do with my anubis's now - will they recover? Any step by step instructions on the most important things i need to do with be great pls

Substrate isnt great (pea gravel) - I bought some fertiliser balls for the non-vallis plants.

Help Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 11:05 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (32/100%)
Need to know more about the tank. Size would be a good start and more about lighting.
For one 20% wc every 5 weeks is not helping.I use the EI method as most do here and we change 50% every week.