White powder substance on plants? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2015, 02:53 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via AIM to jahmarley420 Send a message via Yahoo to jahmarley420 Send a message via Skype™ to jahmarley420
White powder substance on plants?

Hello everyone. I know this is my first post and im already with a problem but I am very new to the planted tank world. Anyways Hopefully you guys and gals can help me .

Info:
29 Gallon Top Fin Tank with Hood, with heater, and Top Fin 30 Filter (Upgrading the filter with Marineland Emperor 400 Pro Series tomorrow)

Sand: Cant remember I thought it was 10lbs of Top Fin. Ill find out for ya.

Lights= Finnex 24/7 Planted+ and Aqueon® Floramax T8 Fluorescent Aquarium Lamp (in the hood).
I use the 24/7 automatic setting on the Finnex unit and on my Flormax T8 I have a timer set to only turn on from 11AM to 5PM.

Plants: Dwarf Hair Grass, Spathiphyllum, Dracaena, Amazon Sword? May replace all with Amazon Sword.

Decor: Fake Drift wood in tank (Main Piece)

Chemicals: Flourish Potassium, Flourish Iron, Flourish Seachem. API Stress Zyme+, API Stress Coat+ (Tomorrow I will have Fluval CO2 88 unit.)

Food: MarineLand Algae Wafers with Zucchini. Aqueon Shrimp Pellets.

Fish: (2) Albino Cory. Getting more waiting for prices to go down. Ill be doing a build??? (sorry car guy) thread here as well. So I can talk more about that there.

Adding Tomorrow: Hydor Koralia Nano 425

Issue: I am getting this white looking powder substance on my plants as well as my wood decor. I cant tell if its on my sand because well its white lol. I have noticed that some areas are a little stringy. My first thought is White Algae but like I said I have no idea. Any ideas and what I can do to get rid of, as well as keep this from happening?

Test Strip results.
Nitrate(No3):1 Safe Maybe 5
Nitrate (No2): Safe (0)
Total Hardness: Very Hard (300)
Total Chroline: Safe (0)