First planted tank... help greatly appreciated - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-31-2009, 11:21 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
First planted tank... help greatly appreciated

Sorry in advance for the double post... but i thought this might go better in here than the lighting specific forum.

Hi, this is my first post here... mainly because this is my first attempt at a "planted tank"

After having my 35L tank running for a while with the usual fake plants/ornaments/standard pebble substrate... I've decided to plant it properly.

I've just put in new substrate (plant nutrient base and fine gravel on top) and added some plants (dont ask me what they are).

on top of this i have been recommended a CO2 unit too, a Tetra CO2-Depot... its had mixed reviews but seems good enough for my small set up.

Basically i need to know if the 11w Arc Pod that came with my tank is powerful enough for decent growth?

From what i can find, you cant get more powerful bulbs for them... and was thinking about just adding a second 11w Arc Pod to give it a little boost.

Any thoughts?

Cheers

ps. How do you stop the smaller plants (at the front of my tank) from uprooting and floating too the top of the tank?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-31-2009, 11:36 PM
Fear the Swamp!

PTrader: (176/100%)
It looks like most of your plants can handle the light that you already have. I'm not 100% sure, but it looks like you may have some HC in the foreground. With your tank being so shallow, the HC may grow for you. My advice would be to wait it out, maybe a month, and monitor your plants. Most of your plants are slow growers and will probably be fine with your current lighting.
As far as your plants floating, use some plant weights to hold them down. I usually get some every time I buy some plants from my LFS, or ask if they have a couple laying around that you can have.