Inherited 55 gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-07-2015, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Post Inherited 55 gallon

I recently inherited a 55 gallon tank. It has a Aqua Clear 70 HOB. A Marine Land H.O.T canister filter. A heater and a very weak light in the hood. It has 3 pieces of driftwood and a natural color gravel for substrate. And plastic plants, lots of plastic plants.

I successfully moved the tank from the previous owner's home to mine with all the occupants surviving. I saved/moved over all the water and did not change the filters or anything else. It has 14 neons 4 gourami, a few other random tetras, and one bottom feeder type fish. It has been set up for over a month and I have done water changes and cleaned on filter but not the other. All is going well.

I used to keep a tank many years ago so I am not a complete newbie but moved on to other hobbies.

I have gotten the planted tank itch. I ordered a 48 inch Planted plus 27/7 which is coming this week. I also plan to dose Flourish Complete and Flourish excel. I have lots of questions.

I don't have a good substrate for plants. Can I mix in some good substrate or do I need to replace all the gravel? If I don't do this right away am I going to regret it later?

Here is the plant list I am looking at buying. Any thoughts or concerns. Is it enough? I am looking at buying from Planted Aquariums Central but would also be willing to piece together a tank from sellers here. Which is better?

Staurogyne repens
Anubias Barteri coffeefolia
Cabomba caroliniana
CHRISTMAS MOSS
Subwassertang
and a package that includes...
4 x Java Fern or Lace java fern
4 x rooted Cryptocoryne Wendtii "red" or Cardinal Plant
4 x Cryptocoryne Retrospiralis, or Spiralis
4 x Anacharis or Anacharis narrow leaf, or Bacopa Carolina
2 x Marimo Ball
2 medium Amazon Sword or Kleiner Prinz Sword