Yellow water caused by Aquasoil - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2009, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (72/100%)
Yellow water caused by Aquasoil

I started a new planted tank a couple weeks ago. Its my first time using aquasoil as a substrate. Since the first day it turned my water a murky yellow. I had been doing daily 50% water changes so I could at least see the back wall and so some light could reach the plants. I went out of town for 4 days this weekend and came back to a completely yellow tank, almost an orange tint. I couldn't even see an inch through the water. So I did a 100% water change and its back to its usual yellow color.

I figured it was the ammonia leeching from the AS but its now been 2 weeks and still just as yellow as the first day. The ammonia is reading 1ppm and nitrite is up to 4ppm. Almost all my HC has wilted away, probably from lack of light. However, the Riccia, HM, and dwarf hairgrass seem to be surviving.

Is this just the usual cycle or should I be doing something to take the yellow away? Will the color go away once the cycle completes? I have some purigen i intend on using once the cycle completes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2009, 11:27 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Send a message via AIM to snoz0r
Yeah it's the tannins in the aquasoil. Mine was cloudy and yellow for a while. Just keeping doing wc's and the purigen will definitely help but you'll be recharging that sucker like crazy. I had to recharge mine about once a week when iwas using I to get of tannins from the AS and driftwood.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
click above for my tank journal - Eheim Pimp Club #357 - SunSun Pimp #3
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-25-2009, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast