No nitrates in a planted tank question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-22-2009, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
No nitrates in a planted tank question

Sorry for a silly sounding question. I've tried to google this answer but I can't seem to find an answer to this question.

This is my first time having a planted tank (I had a non planted tank for 3 years prior to this). My new tank has been up and running for 5 weeks and it's planted w/ various swords, crypts & stem plants, all of which are growing very well. I'm dosing macro & micro nutrients (alternating 3 day macro, 3 day micro, flourish excel, saturday is no fert day). I have 6 angelfish in the tank which is 75g. I do a 30% pwc on Sunday. From the very beginning of setting up the tank I have never had nitrates. Every time I test for nitrates I get 0 ppm. So, is this normal with a planted tank, does having 0 nitrates effect a planted tank, and if yes in what ways? Does it mean that the tank is lacking something, or is 0 nitrates a good thing? Thank you for helping me understand this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-22-2009, 09:50 PM
Banned

PTrader: (2/100%)
This was very confusing for me at the start of my most recent tank. I had never had a plant focused tank before, and I kept measuring and measuring for nitrates. I don't measure ammonia or nitrites when I'm cycling, because it's a waste of time, IMO.

Long story short: This is normal. You are nitrate deficient. Whether that is a problem is another story, and is up to you on how much time, work and money you want to put into the tank.

My advice: Learn how to grow the plants you have. I skipped this step, and the learning curve I'm on is steeper than I expected.

65 gallon journal:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-22-2009, 10:23 PM
Avi