HELP!! total noob needs lots of advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-31-2009, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
HELP!! total noob needs lots of advice

Ok, so I need advice and guidance on a few things here. I need help mostly with lighting, CO2, and fert. Ok so I just bought a plant package, which included hygro sunset, asian ambulia, two-leaved pearlweed, tall sag (not sure which species) xmas moss and narrow leaf java fern. I was thinking about getting some Riccia as well. I would like to have a low tech as posible tank. I have a 25 gallon?(i think, how would i find out for sure?) tank. I have eco-complete for sub. I plan on having 25-20 neons, a betta, some sort of cleaning fish (need to find out who would be compatible with these plants and my exsisting fish). After my tank gets established with the plants and all i would like to add some rcs's and see how they fair with the betta... Hes been freindly in the past and is well feed, so he might not bother them to much. I would like nice plant growth but nothing crazy fast, especially once it fills in.
So my questions are what type of lighting and how strong would be best? I currently have a 15w T8 bulb in there. It is what came with the tank. I know i need to upgrade, but dont know were to begin. Next question is do i need any type of CO2? Can i start off with a higher lighting and CO2 to get the tank started up really nice then take away the CO2, or does that not work? Last question (for this post anyways) Do i need any type of fertilizer? Thanks in advance!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-31-2009, 05:39 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Send a message via AIM to bradac56 Send a message via MSN to bradac56 Send a message via Yahoo to bradac56 Send a message via Skype™ to bradac56
Per a post I made in the fertilizer forum:

For ferts keep it simple at first:

KNO3
KH2PO4