New to planted tanks - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-11-2015, 03:11 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to planted tanks

First and foremost let me say hi. The resources here are amazing. I'm not new to tanks but I am new to plants in them.

I have a 55g tank with a sunsun 404b filter and finnex 24/7 led bar, both are new items. Doing a full reset as we recently went through a losing battle with camallanus worms. I have fish in quarantine that I am now treating with paracide x and sulfa 4 tmp as per National fish pharmacy's recommendation, 1 golden dojo loach, 3 black kuhli loaches, 1 rubber lipped pleco, 2 otto's, and an overstuffed neon tetra(no worms he's just a fat bastard). I also have a few other schooling fish we recently purchased in a separate quarantine tank(5 long fin zebra danio's, 5 white clouds, and 3 neon tetra's. We plan on stocking the tank with a few more fish like german rams and boesemani rainbows as well as a variety of shrimp and a few cory's. I would like a blue lobster as well but am afraid it would pick at the silicone and cause a leak.

My question is whether my light will be enough for dwarf baby tears or star grass. I've tried baby tears in the past but my light and substrate were not enough. I will be using flourite black as my substrate and I've toyed with the idea of laying 10 lbs of the tractor supply clay I've seen mentioned underneath to bolster iron, is that overkill? I am not setting up c02 yet but it is a possibility in the future. I also plan on having amazon swords, java moss, anachris, and hygro xl's in the tank. I have a large centerpiece plant currently in the tank that I believe is an Indian red sword, I bought it in ignorance but it has done well under poor conditions.

Thanks for the help...pics soon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-11-2015, 03:18 AM
bpb
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)