New Guy Issues - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-2015, 09:02 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New Guy Issues

I have always wanted to have an aquarium since I was little, so starting this is great thing for me. I thought I've read enough. Researched enough to get stuff going fairly easy. If I can get this first tank going. I really want to do more. But I am having some issues.

So bare with me. I am a newbie at this.

I have a twelve gallon tank (figured I'd start small) still undecided on type of fish I should/want to put in it.

I have live (umbrella and another i cant recall) which are doing great and growing well and plastic plants (for color)

Some decorative coral stuff for hiding (which is probably too much)

55 watt heater and the filter with all the media (sponge,carbon,bio)

Now....I put my tap water in (which is well water) I knew from get go my water is extremely hard. Buy I wanted to try it just to see if I could avoid buying water for now....but things have gone south as far as being fish safe.

I've been going to petsmart and petco...the real fish stores around me are 45 min away and seem to be shady but I think I may need to venture further for advice. But I've been doing what they have said to get my ph down...I put prime in it and other water conditioners.

From all the testing ... all that seems wrong is my PH is what they say ... so high its off the chart. Everything else is in range.

So on one guy said to put this powdery stuff in to bring it down, which was a mistake I know now. The water got really cloudy for days. Then noticed it building up on the plastic plants and all over the heater. The water is clear now other than that. But the ph is still off the chart.

So tonight plan on starting all over. And cleaning everything. But what I need to know is....