Used Equipment - Is This a Good Deal? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-08-2015, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Used Equipment - Is This a Good Deal?

Hello,
Serious newbie here.

I have recently bought my first aquarium (TopFin 10gal Starter kit), however I quickly realized that the kit comes with really poor equipment (poor filter, heater and lighting). Since I need another tank for hospital/QT/snail breeding, I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and pick up some better equipment at the same time.

I found an ad on my local used classified site and I just want to know what your educated opinions are:

For $45(CAN) the seller is including a 10gal tank, lots of live java fern, a fish hideout, a Hydor 100w heater, a filter (unknown make/model), a lid with screw in bulb capability (which I don't have) and gravel.

Assuming that everything is in good working condition, is this a good deal or should I pass?

Thank you!
(apologies if this is in the wrong category)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-08-2015, 06:49 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
I suppose it really depends on how quickly you need a tank. Thats not an awful deal but there are certainly better deals to be had.

General rule of thumb for most "standard" tanks (ie has a rim, glass not acrylic, not some unique custom made size, etc) is $1/gallon as thats about the best you can buy one new when the chain stores run their sales. So a used 10 gallon tank should really never cost more than $10 (and thats on the high end).

Java fern is pretty cheap and easy to grow so its not saying much to get that in the deal.

The hydor 100 w heater goes for $20 new on amazon right now.

The lid is nothing much; and most "screw in bulb" fixtures are rather old. By todays standards they are a bit outdated; but plenty of people can grow plants using a CFL bulb in one of those.