75 or 90G Questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2009, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
75 or 90G Questions

I am somewhat new to planted tanks have had 14 gallon for about 6 months and everything seems to be going good. Plants are growing and fish are healthy. So on to my quesitons, i am planning to get a 75G or 90G tank this week would you suggest one over the other, would think bigger is always better? I want to put CO2 on this tank and would like the easiest system to manage and have been looking at the GLA systems is this a good choice? What all do i need or will the all inclusive system be enough? Also what type of filter should i get would having a sump really produce too much oxygen? Also lights i am looking at T5. is there anything i am missing?

Thanks
Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-04-2009, 05:41 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
1) Bigger IS always better If you get a 75 and want to invest more into the hobby, you have to get another tank, but if you get a 90 and want to invest less into the hobby, you just dial down the light, the bio-load, and the like.

2) I've never dealt with GLA, but i've heard good things about them.

3) Lets see if i can get all the stuff you'll need for a CO2 system right. Tank, regulator, bubble counter, needle valve, diffuser/reactor, tubing, and a drop checker. I've never dealt with pressurized, so i'm just going off what i remember from this forum.

4) There are ways to set up a sump so that CO2 outgassing is minimized, but if you want to really reduce outgassing, look at canister filters.

5) remember that when looking at the lighting, T5's are about double the light output as T8's or CF's for the same wattage.

Other things) What sort of substrate are you gonna use? What style of aquascape do you want to do? What sort of flora/fauna are you thinking about?