Beginner - help getting started please - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
kor
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Beginner - help getting started please

Hi all! I'm completely new to the world of planted aquaria. So, before I make some terrible, costly mistakes, I was hoping to get some feedback from the experts.

The plan is to use a 55g tank, and about 100W of T5 lighting. I do not want to use CO2 in any form (homebrew too much effort/mess, tanks too expensive).

I'm almost certain that I will use pool filter sand (PFS) as substrate, not because I think it's necessarily the best for plants, but it has the advantages that it's cheap, easy to deal with, and doesn't make a mess in the tank (either clouding or altering water params). I really don't want to deal with the mess/uncertainty of DIY, and just can't see myself ponying up over $100 for fluorite or eco-complete.

My water is about 7.8 pH and about 4 degrees hardness.

I expect I'll have to fertilize, but don't want to be in a situation where I have to do so constantly or risk wipeout of my plants. Other than flourish and flourish excel (both readily available at the LFS), is there anything I'd have to be adding?

Given the light output from the T5s, can I get away with an inert substrate like PFS? And survive without CO2? Or am I going to be in trouble right from the outset?

If this arrangement can work, what plants would do well under such conditions? Any "ground cover" type plants, or just ultra-hardy species like anubias and java fern?

Is it recommended to cycle the tank first, then add plants and fish, or to have the plants in the tank while cycling, only adding the fish later? If adding the plants up-front, would the ammonia levels involved in the typical "fishless cycle" (5 ppm) cause damage to the plants?

Thanks for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 05:05 PM