What do I need to do to adjust my set up? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-25-2009, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
What do I need to do to adjust my set up?

Tank:
Odyssea 50 gallon bow front-tank
4x36 watts for 2.88 wpg (12 hours a day, 10K)
DIY CO2 2 liter/in-tank DIY reactor (powerhead/tube/sponge)
Rena Filstar XP4
Stealth heater
Flourite

Plants:
Amazon swords
Anubias (on drift wood)
Banana plants
Cryptocoryne spiralis
Cryptocoryne bronze?

Fish:
Rainbows
BN pleco
SAE (x2 small)
Albino Cories

Ferts:
API LeafZone 50ml once a week. Seachem root tabs.

So I am new at this and have been coming up with some problems. Swords grew fine for a little but now seem to have slowed at 5". Anubias are yellowing. Cryptocoryne bronze mostly melted away but still sprouting small leaves. Cryptocoryne spiralis doing the best with good growth nearing 24".

The initial set up of the tank about 3 months ago prior to the introduction of fish, I had to blackout due to cynabacteria. Diatom algae is under control by the pleco. I am currently having my first albreak with BBA on the bananas of the banana plant. Not much just noticed it. SAE not seem to want to eat it.

I am assuming that I need more CO2 and a better fert plan. I eventually want to move away from DIY CO2 and go pressurized. Any suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-25-2009, 05:47 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (52/100%)