Overhauling Neglected 55 Gallon, Guidance Needed - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 01-25-2015, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Overhauling Neglected 55 Gallon, Guidance Needed

So I have been battling with my 55 gallon tank for 2 years now, and I'm finally at a point where I can invest some money and time into it. For a long time it seemed that just about everything I tried with this tank backfired, and I just gave up. I also contracted a staph infection back in 2013, and I developed an aversion to digging around and moving things in the tank for a while. I had hopes for this tank. Now I'm ready to pursue them again.

I have in this tank:
1 Three Spot Gourami
3 Dwarf Gouramis
3 Harlequin Rasboras
1 Cherry Barb
1 Yoyo Loach
1 Kuhli Loach
I had more of each species, but haven't restocked.
Plants I may need help identifying.

The filtration is a Marineland Penguin 350 filter with Biowheels. I use Water Conditioner and pH down when I do water changes.

I know that the first thing I have to do is fix my Nitrates. My pH is 6.0, and my ammonia and nitrites read 0 ppm, but my nitrates read somewhere between 40 and 80 ppm (I can't tell, the colors on the chart are almost identical). I am in the middle of a water change right now.

In the mean time, I would appreciate some opinions/advice for some goals I have for this tank for after I fix the nitrates.

There is a coat of green algae that grows on my tank walls It needs to be scraped off every two weeks or so. This would be due to the high nitrates, correct? It's not really hurting anything, this is really my most minor of concerns. Unless it is, please tell me if it is.