getting back into the aquarium hobby - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-19-2015, 04:06 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
getting back into the aquarium hobby

So I'm considering getting back into the aquarium hobby. I'm in my late 20's now, and I've had a variety of tanks throughout my life, a few years on and a few years off. In college, I had my first well planted tank; my childhood attempts were not so great. It was only 10 gallons (as I recall) had driftwood and was planted java fern and anubias nana. The fish were x-ray tetras. Unfortunately, the fish died during a move and that setback caused me to lose interest for a while. A few years later, during grad school, I acquired a betta during a white elephant gift exchange (why would anyone do this?! ) and I had a nice little planted 2.5G desktop tank until I graduated 5 months later and moved across the country.

Coming to the present, I'm now making a salary and can afford to go big on an aquarium, but I live in San Francisco, so space is somewhat of a constraint. And I expect to move somewhat often. So is it safe to get back into the hobby, or should I wait until I am more settled? I have TWO LFS within 3 blocks of my apartment. Quite dangerous if you ask me.

These are my current plans:
  • Tank size: 20G long or 29G. I need help deciding here!
  • Substrate: Eco-complete (LFS1 has it, LFS2 has fluval). I may want to cap it with pebbles and sand, but this is something I've never done. I used fluorite in my last planted tank, which worked alright.
  • Decor: rocks and driftwood. LFS has some drift wood, but I may need help sourcing these items.
  • Plants: I figured I'd get the Live Aquaria Mega Pack 30G, but I'm not really sure. Should I, perhaps, pick out several I like and get multiples of them instead of going for so much variety? Also, how important is it to santize the plants before adding them to the tank?