Crushed Coral to Raise KH? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Crushed Coral to Raise KH?

I'm very new to planted tanks, especially high tech. Tomorrow (what I think should be) the last of my equipment needs come in for my high tech tank.

My KH is about 2, so I put 4 TBS of crushed coral in a Small bag in my filter, in hopes of raising the KH a bit.

Good idea, or no?

-Complete Noob-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2015, 12:25 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
I would think it might need to be a bunch more than that to really see the difference. You may see a pretty big bump at the start as there is likely to be dust on the surface which works pretty quick but after that is gone the process slows down. Cichlid breeders who want hard water often do the substrate in crushed coral or limestone.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2015, 12:35 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Coral with raise gh and kh.

kh of 2 is fine in my books. You just don't want it to be 0. That said, I regard a kh of 3-4 to be ideal.

The effect of 4 TBS of crushed coral in a Small bag in the filter, really depends on the size of the tank. I'd say that much is suited to a large tank, 300-400L tank.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-13-2015, 12:41 AM
Wannabe Guru

The CC will work.
You may have better or more controlled results if you use the CC in water you are prepping for the tank(outside of tank).
That way you can test the water before adding to tank and therefore be able to get exact levels you want by mixing with original water to dilute or adding more CC or letting it "soak" longer for still harder water.

AKA; RAMBANDIT