New to planted tanks experts needed! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-22-2014, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation New to planted tanks experts needed!

Okay so I've been posing a lot for a reason. And am learning. I am new to planted tanks. They are awesome. But I still need to know a few things... Lighting fertilization and all that jazz. So with that being said let me start.

OVERVEIW
  • TANK - 10g standard
  • FILTER - Tetra PF10
  • HEATER - 50 Watt
  • And a stick. I have a stick in it right now... Ha

LIGHTING
So with lighting I think i want maybe low-med? If CO2 is needed then I'm sure I can DIY and will be willing to DIY. Is this light good enough to grow a decent amount of plants for a beginner? I want a dense tank. IS the light low or high?

http://www.aquatraders.com/LED-Aquar...t-p/56543p.htm

If This isn't good enough or if this is to high/low, I was thinking of either using one or two DESK lamps, or one or two clamp on lights? Thoughts?

FERTS
For this I am some what stumped. Will this be all I need?

http://greenleafaquariums.com/aquari...r-package.html

It seems to be what I am looking for.

SUBSTRATE
For this I am not sure. People say to get ECOcomplete but also others say that you can just use regular gravel? What should I do?

MY FILTER
My filter isn't great. It's a tetra PF10 that came with the tank. Will that do? It doesn't cause a lot of current in my tank but I have no idea if ill need a bunch of filtration. I'll leave that for the experts to decide.

OVERALL TANK PLANS