EXPERTS ONLY: New planted tank - Every question you can imagine - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-22-2014, 04:20 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation EXPERTS ONLY: New planted tank - Every question you can imagine

Hey everyone,

This thread is huge, so please answer as much or as little as you like.

I have been lurking here for a while and I'm planning on setting up my first planted tank. I have a lot of experience with fresh water tanks, and have even bred a few of my fish successfully. I am sick of working with "Petco" tanks that have fake gravel and plants. It's time to step things up a notch! Due to many open-ended answers in my search, I have made this large thread that asks all of my questions. I have a Mr. Aqua 12 gallon long. I am going to start simple with my first planted tank: One carpeting plant and some rocks, that's it. Definitely considering HC Cuba, despite a lot of people saying they have had bad luck growing it.

Now for the questions:

Lighting:

I am going to use T5 HO bulbs, 2x 24W. I have 10000k bulbs and 6500k bulbs. I might do a combo of both. I am going to suspend my light fixture about 8 inches above the water's surface. Please tell me if it is too much /too little light.

Filtration:

I have a Fluval 105 canister that I am going to use. I already have the clear tubes and glass pipes. Never ran this filter - I am debating whether or not to use activated carbon or stuff the canister with some media.

Honestly, planted tanks look so clean and perfect it doesn't seem like they need a filter at all! Filters seem to be mostly for surface agitation in a planted aquascape.

Substrate / Fertilizers: