Am I ready? (55 Gallon Hi-Tech) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-17-2014, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Am I ready? (55 Gallon Hi-Tech)

Hi everyone,

Long time reader, first time posting;

I have since decided to move on from my VERY low tech 30 gallon tank to a hi-tech 55 gallon and I was looking for some advice.

I have little experience with planted tanks and this forum has helped me greatly in my research, albeit I am still rather nervous on setting everything up right and to make sure I don't flush whatever money I spend on my plants down the toilet.

I was looking for some guidance in making sure I am going in the right direction before I break ground. Here is my current setup:

Tank:
55 Gallon tank
4x54w T5H0 Bulbs (still deciding whether to run 2, 3 or 4 bulbs at once - total watts is 216w, 5" above aquarium)
5lbs Pressurized CO2 tank
Aquatek Regulator w/ Solenoid (came with bubble counter and CO2 tubing)
Inline Up Aqua atomizer OR Ista Max Mis reactor (I got both so I have a backup)
Eheim 2217 Filter (along with x2 AC 50's I will use from my old tank to speed up cycling)
4 dKh Solution
Drop Checker
API Freshwater Test kit
x6 Flourite Black Sand bags

Dry fertilizers/dosing:
1/2 tsp KN03 3x a week
1/8 tsp KH2P04 3x a week
Micronutrients +B 3x a week (Canada does not have Magnesium added to this mix, not sure if this will be a problem -should I get MgSO4?)
Root tabs

Water tap parameters:
KH: 6 (107.4 ppm)
GH: 9 (161.1 ppm)
PH: 7.4

From my research, it is to my understanding that I should try to cover at least 50% of my substrate in plants from the get go. I understand that some plants will not survive in the short run but I would possibly like to avoid any potential disasters and lose all my plants within a few days!

Please go easy on me as I am still learning any advice would be appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement