proofread my new tank! :) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-17-2014, 02:22 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
proofread my new tank! :)

Hi! My name is Ariel and I'm new to planted tank. I love fish people and there arent very many in alpharetta georgia besides marine. Forgive me for the very long post! This turned out to be a novel, but I like to be thorough.

I had aquariums and plants all through middle school and high school thanks to an amazing hobby enabler mother, though they all were taken down when I went to college. Now its been five years with no tanks and after the recent passing of my gerbils from college, the empty 20 gallon long they had lived in wouldnt stop looking at me. This time around Im an adult and have more money and a car to run for supplies in, I want everything to be perfect ;P

So! On to the tank proofreading! This tank has been set up for two weeks, planted for one. I cycled it with bacteria supplement and pure ammonia and plants, currently Ive been bringing the ammonia up to around two or three ppm every day (measuring with the api master kit) and its back to zero the next day. So currently Im just feeding the tank until I stock it, the cycle seems complete.

My lighting comes from an aquaic life 36" t5ho fixture with a 10,000k and a 6700k bulb set about four or five inches above the water, totaling 60 watts (Im bad and the 6700k is only a t5, not t5ho, do you think this might fry the bulb or the t5ho fixture?)